Nepal's political parties make promises to break them! Again and again!

In November 2010, the leaders of 12 political parties including Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, then Nepali Congress (NC) Chairman Girija Prasad Koirala, CPN-UML Chairman Jhalanath Khanal, Madhesi People´s Rights Forum Nepal (MPRF-N) President Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar, Tarai Madhes Loktantra Party (TMDP) President Mahanta Thakur and Sadbhavana Party (SP) Chairman Rajendra Mahato had signed a paper pledging not to hold any strike that would affect Nepal Tourism Year 2011. However, yesterday Kathmandu Valley was closed due to strikes by the Unified CPN-M aligned Newa and Tamsaling State Committees. All major parties have conveniently denied involvement in the strike. How can Nepal expect to attract a million visitors if the major tourism hub of the country is shutdown like this? One wonders when the political parties of Nepal will learn that bandhs are not the best form of protest. Shame on you politicians of Nepal!