Nepal Government announces winners of the First Gautam Buddha International Peace Award

The Nepal Government has awarded the first Gautam Buddha International Peace Award jointly to the Mayors of the Japanese city of Hiroshima, Dr Tadatoshi Akiba and Nagasaki, Tomihisa Taue, in recognition of their significant contribution to peace and non-violence.

The award is given every five years to recognize and honor individuals and institutions around the world that have made a significant contribution to peace and nonviolence through the teachings and messages of Lord Buddha. The Mayors will be invited to a ceremony to be held in Lumbini, the birth place of Lord Buddha, on the occasion of Buddha Jayanati on May 17, where President Dr Ram Baran Yadav will confer the award comprising a gold medal, certificate of award and a cash prize of US $ 50,000 ($25,000 each to the two winners).

The two mayors lead the "Mayors for Peace" movement involving more than 4,000 municipalities in the world, including two-thirds of all Japanese municipalities. They have been great advocates of nuclear non-proliferation, reduction of military expenditure and disarmament.